Vision – prosperity

home > Prosperity > Vision – prosperity

Sustainability creates new opportunities

These days, successful businesses are resolutely focussing on sustainable development. After all, ‘sustainability’ is the answer to the many challenges we are facing. By 2050, not only will 9 billion people be living on the Earth, but also the demand for natural resources, energy, food, drinking water, improved quality of life and health will continue to increase exponentially. And the reality – if appropriate actions are not taken – is that this increase will lead to the ‘overconsumption’ of our planet.

That’s why European and local policymakers are deliberately opting for sustainable growth. However, sustainable development is not possible without innovation, and the chemical, plastics and life sciences industry plays a crucial role in this. So the sector is constantly seeking out more efficient processes, high-quality, innovative products and appropriate business models. Companies are focussing on renewable raw materials, closing material cycles, and actively collaborating in the development of more energy-efficient buildings. The interesting thing about all of these efforts, is that each one creates new opportunities and markets.

essenscia believes that bundling knowledge and skills creates the necessary leverage to allow innovation to actually break through. Because breakthroughs are achieved by creating new value chains in the context of open collaboration. Our country is already one step ahead in this: having a strong industrial fabric, within reach of many universities and research centres. This cross-border approach generates an innovative force within our SMEs and multinationals. Their broad ranges of new niche products and services are the best evidence of this.

At the sector’s instigation, the Flanders Innovation Hub for Sustainable Chemistry (FISCH), a competency pool on sustainable chemicals was set up in Flanders, and the competitiveness clusters Greenwin and Biowin were set up in Wallonia. These are concrete interpretations of open innovation. These innovation platforms act as a forum in which small and large companies from diverse sectors of industry exchange their knowledge and expertise through open cooperation with knowledge centres and universities, thereby developing sustainable solutions for chemicals and (bio) pharmaceuticals. Together, in collective projects, they are making a tangible and positive contribution to the many social challenges.

In addition to innovation, industry-friendly, supporting policy is required to keep chemicals, plastics and life sciences firmly anchored in our country. After all, the transition to a sustainable, innovative chemicals sector must be borne by companies, the government and all other stakeholders. Our sector plays a pioneering role in this area. essenscia was the first industrial sector to conclude an agreement with the trade unions, in which the social partners acknowledge that innovation and structural transformation are of vital importance for meeting the challenges and guaranteeing sustainable growth. In recent years, the sector has also cooperated constructively with the government. This occurred via a structural consultation platform (High Level Group) tasked with creating the right preconditions for an optimum investment and innovation climate. Amongst others, this cooperation resulted in a patent unit (Octrooicel) set up by essenscia and the government. The aim of this unit is to protect intellectual property and to continue to support innovation. In addition, essenscia is organising its biennial Innovation Award. This initiative intends to highlight
the pioneering ideas of companies, and to encourage Belgian companies to keep on innovating.

Vision – Prosperity

home > Prosperity > Vision – prosperity

La durabilité crée de nouvelles opportunités

Les entreprises à succès misent aujourd’hui résolument sur le développement durable. La « durabilité » apporte en effet une réponse aux nombreux défis auxquels nous sommes tous confrontés. D’ici 2050, la Terre comptera 9 milliards d’habitants. La demande de matières premières naturelles, d’énergie, de nourriture, d’eau potable ainsi que d’amélioration de la qualité de la vie et de la santé continuera donc à augmenter de manière exponentielle. Sans actions appropriées, cette augmentation va entraîner une « surconsommation » de notre planète.

Les responsables politiques locaux et européens optent clairement pour la croissance durable. Toutefois, le développement durable est impossible sans innovation. L’industrie chimique, des matières plastiques et des sciences de la vie joue un rôle crucial dans ce domaine. Le secteur est continuellement à la recherche de processus plus efficaces, de produits innovants, de qualité et de business models adaptés. Les innovations aident à limiter les émissions de CO2 de nos voitures. Les entreprises misent sur les matières premières renouvelables, l’économie circulaire et participent activement au développement de bâtiments plus efficaces d’un point de vue énergétique. Tous ces efforts créent de nouvelles opportunités et ouvrent de nouveaux marchés.

essenscia pense qu’en associant connaissances et compétence, nous créons un effet de levier permettant à l’innovation de réellement percer. En effet : des percées sont réalisées en créant de nouvelles chaînes de valeurs dans le cadre d’une collaboration ouverte. Or, notre pays a une longueur d’avance dans ce domaine : outre son tissu industriel solide, de nombreux centres de recherche et universités sont à portée de main. Cette approche transfrontalière génère une puissance innovante dans nos PME et nos multinationales. Leur large gamme de nouveaux produits et services de niche en est la meilleure preuve.

C’est sous l’impulsion du secteur que le Flanders Innovation Hub for Sustainable Chemistry (FISCH),
le pôle de compétence sur la chimie durable, a été créé en Flandre, et que les pôles de compétitivité Greenwin et Biowin ont été mis en place en Wallonie. Il s’agit d’exemples concrets d’innovation ouverte. Ces plateformes d’innovation font office de forum où les petites et grandes entreprises de divers secteurs industriels échangent leurs connaissances et expertises avec les centres de connaissance et les universités via une collaboration ouverte, pour finalement développer des solutions durables dans les secteurs de la chimie et de la (bio)pharmacie. Dans les projets collectifs, ils fournissent ensemble une contribution positive et tangible aux nombreux défis sociaux.

Afin d’assurer un ancrage durable de la chimie, des matières plastiques et des sciences de la vie dans notre pays, outre l’innovation, une politique d’accompagnement et de soutien à l’industrie est nécessaire. La transition vers un secteur chimique innovant et durable doit en effet être soutenue par les entreprises, les pouvoirs publics et toutes les autres parties prenantes. Notre secteur joue à ce niveau un rôle de pionnier. essenscia a en effet été le premier secteur industriel à conclure un accord avec les syndicats, dans le cadre duquel les partenaires sociaux reconnaissent que l’innovation et la transformation structurelle sont vitales pour aborder efficacement les défis et garantir une croissance durable. Le secteur a aussi collaboré de manière constructive avec le gouvernement ces dernières années. Cette collaboration a été assurée via une plateforme de concertation structurelle (High Level Group), qui avait pour mission d’esquisser les conditions favorables à un climat d’investissement et d’innovation optimal. Elle a notamment débouché sur une cellule brevets créée par essenscia et les autorités. Cette cellule a pour but de protéger la propriété intellectuelle et de soutenir l’innovation. essenscia organise en outre tous les deux ans un Innovation Award. Cette initiative vise à mettre en avant les idées innovantes des entreprises et à encourager les entreprises belges à continuer d’innover.